Dale

Hi, my name is Dale and I’m a new member with a 1987 Chaparral 3.0L engine with a bit of a problem. It won’t start, it won’t even turn over, the gauges won’t even jump when I turn the key on. The blower, bilge pump, and horn do work. I have power when I jump across the starter, also power when I jump across the slave solenoid. I have put a jumper across the shifter cut off switch and still nothing. I’m hoping to connect with others with Chaparral experience to suggest additional things to try. I thank anyone that will offer me advice. Cayuga Lake Dale

Reactions: Doc

Denny

Gold Site Supporter
First off, welcome to the forum. I am no mechanic, but I think your issue is in your ignition switch and or the switch wiring to the starter. I would start there first if it were me.
Someone more mechanical may have a better answer. I am kind of trial and error person.
Good luck, please keep us posted, your info may help someone else.

Reactions: Doc

SST

Years ago I had a similar starting problem although I don’t recall the problem as complex as yours. I replaced the ignition switch and that took care of it. Try the least expensive route to eliminate possibilities.

Dale

First off, welcome to the forum. I am no mechanic, but I think your issue is in your ignition switch and or the switch wiring to the starter. I would start there first if it were me.
Someone more mechanical may have a better answer. I am kind of trial and error person.
Good luck, please keep us posted, your info may help someone else.
Hi Denny,
Thank you for your helpful response. I am not much of a mechanic either but I pulled out the schematic that came with the boat, traced the electrical lines, and it showed a fuse near the ignition switch. After digging a bit, I found the 20 amp fuse, replaced it, and that problem is history. It only took me a little over a year. The good news is, I'm back on the water. Thank you again and have a great summer.
sincerely,
Cayuga Lake Dale

Dale